Nutella Hot Chocolate

Nutella Hot Chocolate

hot cocoa 028

(picture from here)

Guys, I’ve come across the best idea ever for hot chocolate-add nutella. I was on Pinterest yesterday to avoid studying for finals, and I came across a pin for Nutella hot chocolate.  It immediately caught my interest because Nutella is clearly one of the basic food groups, and I knew I had to make it.

I googled a bunch of different recipes for Nutella hot chocolate and tried the one I thought was best.  Obviously I chose one that had the highest Nutella to milk ratio (don’t act like you wouldn’t as well) and got to work.  I made it in my microwave since I don’t trust dorm kitchens, but I’m also including a recipe for the stove if you have your own place.  Enjoy this recipe and happy finals!

 

Stovetop Method:

NOTE: I haven’t tried the stovetop recipe, so let me know how it goes; (recipe from here)

Ingredients

-1 cup milk

-2½ Tbsp Nutella

-1 Tbsp Cocoa

Instructions

Combine all ingredients in a small sauce pan over medium heat and stir until it reaches your desired temperature.  Pour into a mug and enjoy.

Microwave method:

Ingredients:

1 cup milk (substitute hot water if absolutely necessary but it won’t be nearly as good)

2-3 T Nutella to taste

Instructions

Pour milk into microwave-safe cup and microwave for 1.5 minutes.  Add Nutella and microwave for 45 seconds-1 minute.

CAUTION: hot chocolate may be really hot when it’s finished for either recipe so be careful.  Feel free to decorate with marshmallows, whipped cream, sprinkles, or whatever you’d like.

Leave a Reply

About Me

Jennifer Gardner

Jennifer Gardner

I knew that when I was starting a blog that it had to be about chocolate. I mean, who doesn’t like it? It’s basically the food of the gods right there, and I would eat it every day if it were better for me. The stuff’s amazing. Since I can’t eat it all the time, I figured I could at least talk about it. Kind of the same thing, right? This blog will let me explore my love for chocolate and chocolate truffles. I'll share recipes, tips I've learned, a little history, and reviews of chocolate desserts I find around Des Moines.

What do you need to know about me? Well, my name is Jennifer Gardner, and I’m a sophomore at Drake University that’s obsessed with Pinterest, chocolate, and desserts in general. I’m currently a magazines journalism major with minors in marketing and entrepreneurship. I’ve been obsessed with baking ever since I was a sophomore in high school, and I actually considered opening my own dessert business at one point and played around with creating my own website! I ultimately decided that it would be too time consuming to start a business, but my love of desserts hasn’t changed. I’ve been making desserts for family members for years, and I’ve also made them for the restaurant where I work. I’m by no means a professional, but I’m such a perfectionist that I won’t let things rest until I’m happy with them.

I can't wait to start blogging about my favorite food! Enjoy reading!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

